Witten recipient of Starr Award

4:55 am | January 9, 2013

Athletes in Action announced Tuesday that Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten has been chosen as the 2013 recipient of the Bart Starr Award, which annually honors an NFL player for great leadership and character in the home, on the field and in the community.
The award, named after Pro Football Hall of Famer/former Green Bay quarterback Bart Starr, is voted on by the league’s players.
An alumnus of Elizabethton High, Witten was one of three finalists. The other two were New York Giants defensive end Justin Tuck and Tennessee Titans quarterback Matt Hasselbeck.

Elizabethton Star back open navigation

Switch to our desktop site