Today is Election Day

8:03 am | November 6, 2012

Voters around the country will be heading to the polls today to select everything from the President of the United States to local city council members.

The polls in Carter County are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Those in line at 8 p.m., will be allowed to vote.

Visit the Elizabethton STAR’s website on Tuesday night for the latest updates on the local┬ávote tally. Facebook will also be updated throughout the night.

Carter County residents have several races to vote for, including the presidential race, U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, Tennessee Senate, Tennessee House of Representatives and local races in Elizabethton and Watauga. Elizabethton residents have the added referendum to decide whether to allow liquor stores in the city.

Voters are reminded to bring a federal or state government issued ID. Anyone with questions is asked to contact the Election Commission at 542-1822.

Precincts in Carter County are as follows:

First District- Hunter Elementary School, Buladeen Citizens Center and Unaka Elementary School.

Second District- Cloudland Elementary School, Hampton High School.

Third District- Central Elementary School, Keenburg Elementary School, Range Elementary School, Watauga City Hall.

Fourt District- Main Courthouse, Eastside Elementary School, Siam Learning Center, Tennessee National Guard Armory.

Fifth District- Happy Valley Elementary School.

Sixth District- Elk Mills Volunteer Fire Department, Hampton Elementary School, Little Milligan Elementary School, Valley Forge Elementary School.

Seventh District- Happy Valley High School, Westside Elementary School.

Eighth District- Harold McCormick Elementary School, T.A. Dugger Jr. High School.

Elizabethton Star back open navigation

Switch to our desktop site