Local schools fare well on All-TRC team

10:06 am | May 29, 2012

Nine Carter County players and a quartet more from Johnson County help make up the All-Three Rivers Conference team for 2012.

Unicoi’s Chelsey Gardner was voted as player of the year while head coach Grady Lingerfelt took home coach-of-the-year honors. The Blue Devils were undefeated in conference play before bowing out to Gibbs in the sub-state game.

Elizabethton placed five players on the squad, the same number as the Blue Devils.

Lindsey Cunningham, Caley Hodge, Reazyn DeMoss, Danielle Loving and Sophie Bremer make up the quintet of Cyclones.

Cunningham wore two hats — the pitcher and number three batter for ’Betsy. She ended the year hitting .449 including five home runs. She also compiled 18 of the team’s win as a pitcher.

Her battery mate, Hodge, hit .394 with a seven home runs. She also was one of the top defensive players on the squad.

DeMoss blasted 12 home runs and nine doubles en route to a .351 clip. Loving provided 12 doubles which led to her .415 batting average from the leadoff spot. Bremer ended the season at .382 with a dozen two-baggers.

Happy Valley had a good year under head coach Mike Dorsey, with a quartet of his players making the squad.

Kiara Coffey, Allison Williams, Kaylee Street and Kaitlin Campbell got the nod for the Tribe.

Coffey hit .417 with six doubles and 22 RBIs. Williams had nine doubles and nine triples while batting .378. Street ended the year at .369, with Campbell adding a .351 average that included eight doubles.

Ashley Arnold, Cindi Edington, Hollie Harrison and Eden Smith represented Johnson County.

Arnold ended the year hitting .439 with a fielding percentage of .940. Joining her was Eden Smith who hit a very respectable .391. Cindy Edington earned a place after batter .327 as a freshman. Senior Hollie Harrison, who batted .306 and led the team in sacrifice bunts, rounds out the Lady Longhorns’ representatives.

Sullivan East and Sullivan North placed three players each on the squad.

A total of 11 players from Elizabethton, Happy Valley and Johnson County were tabbed for honorable mention honors.


All–Three-Rivers Conference

Coach of the Year—Grady Lingerfelt (Unicoi County).

Player of the Year—Chelsey Gardner (Unicoi County).

Unicoi County—Cheyenne Delffs, Shea Pearson, Jessica Presser, Kacy Silvers, Ashley Starnes.

Elizabethton—Sophie Bremer, Lindsey Cunningham, Reazyn DeMoss, Caley Hodge, Danielle Loving.

Happy Valley—Kaitlin Campbell, Kiara Coffey, Kaylee Street, Allison Williams

Johnson County—Ashley Arnold, Cindi Edington, Hollie Harrison, Eden Smith.

Sullivan East—Courtney Leonard, Angel Trent, Casey Williams

Sullivan North—Logan Blakley, Jessica Colley, Ginny Ketron

Honorable Mention

Unicoi County—Grayson Goddard, Tiffany Laughren, Kaylee Nicholson, Brooke Strothers.

Elizabethton—Emily Carr, Ashleigh Dykes, Casey Jones, Abby Stephenson

Happy Valley—Hannah Blevins, Jessa Dugger, Brittany Morefield, Brooke Simmons.

Johnson County—Haley Miller, Miranda Payne, Abby Reece.

Sullivan East—Ashlyn Douglas, Brittany Scott, Rachel Stidham.

Sullivan North—Natosha Fair, Shayla Fortner, Brooke Howington, Jessica Parker, Hannah Pearcy.

Elizabethton Star back open navigation

Switch to our desktop site