Highway Committee selects new chairperson

10:00 am | October 15, 2013

A moment of silence in remembrance of Ernest “Gebe” Ritchie preceded the Carter County Highway Committee’s decision to appoint new leadership at its Monday morning meeting.

Commissioner Buford Peters was approved to fill the Carter County Highway Committee's chairperson vacancy.

Commissioner Buford Peters was approved to fill the Carter County Highway Committee’s chairperson vacancy.

With the recent death of Ritchie, who was a Carter County commissioner and the Highway Committee chairperson, the committee voted for County Commissioner Buford Peters to fill the vacancy.

Before he was nominated to maintain his current role on the committee, Committee Vice Chair Joel Street initially offered to continue filling in as chairman and asked to postpone the nominations for chair and vice chair for one month. But County Commissioner Charles Von Cannon, who was filling in for committee member and secretary Bobbie Dietz, urged the committee to move forward.

“Even out of respect for Gebe, I think he would have wanted things to go forward,” Von Cannon said before nominating Peters as chairman.

Peters’ nomination was approved unanimously as well as Street’s nomination. Dietz was also approved unanimously to retain her role as the committee secretary.

“We thank you Mr. Peters for your willingness to serve,” Street said.

With officials planning to pay their respects to Ritchie after the meeting, Street asked the committee to move into discussion of drainage projects previously selected for the Department of Agriculture’s Natural Resources Conservation Services funding.

Interim Assistant Roads Superintendent Jonathan Powell said he spoke with NRCS Inspector Jason Hughes that morning.

“Ralph Hathaway is 100 percent complete,” Powell said. “They are working on the Coney Island project as we speak today.”

Elizabethton Star back open navigation

Switch to our desktop site